Sybil Orman

Sybil Orman
I’m Sybil Orman, and currently live in Leawood, Kansas, but have lived all throughout the metro area. I grew up in Olathe, and went on to attend Kansas State University and the University of Kansas where I finished my undergraduate and masters degree in education. Before having children, I spent my days as a high school Spanish teacher in Kansas City, Kansas. Now, I can be found loving on and figuring out life with my 6-year-old daughter, Imogen, 4-year-old daughter, Sigrid, and 8-month-old son, Rory, as well as my 3 dogs, feisty cat, and 3 fish. I’ve been married to my husband, Greg, for nearly nine years. We have experienced two statewide political campaigns and a pandemic together, and I am STILL so grateful we bumped into each other at the gym that summer day 12 years ago. My other true love and constant part of my adult life has been running. My “me time” is hitting the pavement all about town, with run clubs and at local races. You can find me in my craft room, outside trying to keep my garden alive, or researching ways to attract a variety of birds to my feeders.
Young Black woman in pink shirt running race with a race bib on No. 118

Running Your First 5K

This summer, lacing up your shoelaces has become more routine, your stride has become smoother, and your breath less labored as you jog around the familiar streets of your neighborhood. You feel more confident...

How to Start Running

Tips from a former non runner to a Boston marathon qualified mom of three.  The idea of running used to boggle my mind. I’d watch my college roommate lace up her shoes and bound out...
Join the KCMC Insider List!

Join our weekly newsletter to get a summary of the best content, local guides and first access to KCMC events.